Planning & Zoning Commission

View Deadlines View Agendas View Minutes

The Planning and Zoning (P&Z) Commission meets on the 3rd Thursday of the month. The Commission is made up from individuals representing each of the 10 county townships and the County engineer. The P&Z Commission acts as an advisory commission to the County Commission on matters of land use. They hear requests for conditional use permits, rezoning requests, and review subdivision plats.

All recommendations for approval are forwarded to the County Commission who conducts another public hearing. The County Commission generally follows the recommendation of the Planning and Zoning Commission but they are not obligated to uphold any recommendation. Recommendations for denial by the Planning and Zoning Commission are not forwarded to the County Commission unless the applicant files an appeal. The appeal must be received by the Planning Department within 3 working days in order to be heard by the County Commission.

The Planning and Zoning Commission periodically reviews the zoning and subdivision regulations and makes suggestions for changes to the regulations. In the case of changes suggested for the Zoning Regulations, the P&Z Commission conducts at least three public hearings.


Boone County Engineer

Jeff McCann

801 E Walnut, Rm 315

Columbia, MO 65201

(573) 886-4480

No Term Limit

Bourbon Township

Freddy Furlong

4401 W Voorheis Rd

Sturgeon, MO 65284

(573) 819-6290

Term Expires: 3/31/2023

Cedar Township

Carl Freiling

17300 Burnett School Rd

Ashland, MO 65010

(573) 268-7212

Term Expires: 2/28/2021

Centralia Township

Boyd Harris

19510 N. Drew

Centralia, MO 65240

(573) 682-6500

Term Expires: 5/01/2020

Columbia Township

Loyd Wilson

4061 S Rangeline Rd

Columbia, MO 65201

(573) 864-8217

Term Expires: 2/28/2021

Katy Township

Greg Martin

3910 N McGill Pointe Dr.

Rocheport, MO 65279

(573) 819-4363

Term Expires: 5/31/2021

Missouri Township

Eric Kurzejeski

4320 Brushwood Lake Rd.

Columbia, MO 65203

(573) 446-4371

Term Expires: 03/31/2023

Perche Township

Rhonda Proctor

2541 W Dripping Springs

Columbia, MO 65202

(573) 823-8018 H

Term Expires: 5/01/2020

Rock Bridge Township

Michael Poehlman

181 W. Old Plank Rd.

Columbia, MO 65203

(573) 321-9007 H

Term Expires: 4/30/2023

Rocky Fork Township

Steve Koirtyohann

9901 E Hwy OO

Hallsville, MO 65255

(573) 881-5364

Term Expires: 7/31/2021

Three Creeks Township

Bill Lloyd

5051 E Eagle Ridge Rd

Columbia, MO 65201

(573) 268-5172

Term Expires: 9/01/2019