Dwayne Carey
Boone County Sheriff
Boone County Sheriff's Department and Jail
2121 County Dr.
Columbia, MO 65201
Office (573) 875-1111
Fax (573) 874-8953

Services

Concealed Carry Frequently Asked Questions

Apply for a Permit

*** CHANGES TO CCW ***

Effective August 28th, 2013

NOTE: Several changes to Missouri’s Conceal and Carry law took effect August 28th, 2013. Please review Chapter 571, sections 101 through 121 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri thoroughly. Please feel free to contact the Boone Co. Sheriff’s Department with any questions you may have.

Some changes effective August 28, 2013:

The Boone County Sheriff’s Department will begin issuing concealed carry permits. Ashland and Hallsville PDs no longer process ccw applications.

New CCW permits and renewed CCW permits issued on or after August 28, 2013 are valid for a period of 5 years.

Applicants who are issued a new or renewed CCW permit on or after August 28, 2013 no longer need to go to the Department of Revenue.

Until January 1, 2014, the CCW permit issued will be a paper permit. This is due to the transition time needed for the Dept. of Public Safety to develop and provide hardware, software and equipment to Sheriff’s Departments so they can issue concealed carry permits on cards as prescribed in the revised law. Anticipating this programming and equipment to be developed, distributed to agencies, and operational by January 1, 2014, we will then re-issue CCW permits on cards to those who only received a paper permit between August 28, 2013 and December 31, 2013. New or renewed permits issued on or after January 1, 2014 will be in card form.

A CCW permit holder is required to have their permit AND a government-issued photo ID on their person at all times when carrying a concealed firearm.

Applicants are no longer required to be a United States citizen. However, applicants must be a permanent resident of the United States and when applying for a CCW permit, must provide their alien or admission number issued to them by the Federal Immigration and Customs Enforcement Bureau.

Effective August 28, 2013, the fee in Boone County for a new CCW permit is increased by $5.00 from $92.50 to $97.50. The increased fee is for ongoing CCW equipment maintenance costs including the cost of purchasing ink cartridges and the cards on which the permits are printed. The fee for a renewed permit remains unchanged at $50.00.

Effective August 28, 2013, the Boone County Sheriff’s Department will begin charging a $10.00 processing fee for each of the following:

Concealed Carry instructors that are currently on Boone County’s approved instructor list will remain on the list through the end of 2013 as long as their certifications remain valid during that time. We are still vetting out the required and/or optional procedures and fees regarding instructors. Instructors appearing currently valid on our list will be notified prior to December 31, 2013 as to their options.

There are other nuances and changes to Missouri’s Concealed Carry Law not listed here. You are encouraged to read and understand the new law that took effect August 28, 2013. For the full text of the new law (Senate Bill 75 of the 2013 legislative session) please read the version labeled Truly Agreed and Finally Passed (2013 TAFP, SB 75) at http://www.moga.mo.gov/.


Conceal & Carry Finger Print Station Conceal & Carry Finger Print Station

How do I get my concealed carry permit?

Where can I get the training certificate needed for concealed carry?

Where can I apply for my permit?

How much does a permit cost?

Do other states recognize a Missouri CCW permit?

Are there places in Missouri I can't carry a concealed firearm after I get my permit?

Do I have to get a CCW permit if I only want to carry a concealed firearm in my car?

I took a firearms safety course a number of years ago. Can I use that certificate to apply for a CCW permit without taking a new course?

How long will it take to get my CCW permit?

How long is my concealed carry permit valid?

Do I have to carry my certificate form with me when I have a concealed firearm?

Where can I find all of the Missouri Statutes that pertain to Concealed Carry and other weapons offenses?

Where do I go to get my CCW renewed?

When can I start the renewal process?

What is the cost of the renewal?

What do I need to bring with me to do my renewal?

Can I get the new certificate the same day?

How can I be added to Boone County's approved concealed carry instructor list?

What do I do if my permit is lost or destroyed?

What do I do if I change my address?

What do I do if my name changes due to marriage, divorce or some other legal name change?

How do I get my concealed carry permit?

You must be at least twenty-one years of age, or at least eighteen years of age and a member of the United States Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, or a permanent resident of the United States.

You must be a Boone County, Missouri, resident.

Applicants can apply by presenting their firearms safety training certificate, a positive picture I.D., proof of current address, two complete sets of fingerprints and a non-refundable fee.

Applicants who are not a citizen of the United States must provide an alien or admission number issued by the Federal Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement confirming permanent residency within the United States.

back to top

Where can I get the training certificate needed for concealed carry?

There are a number of private vendors offering this training. They can be located via various advertisements in the media, and by contacting area gun stores and shooting organizations. The Boone County Sheriff’s Department cannot provide specific instructor information.

back to top

Where can I apply for my permit?

Applicants from Boone County may apply at the location listed below:

Boone County Sheriff's Department   Online - Apply for a Permit
2121 County Dr.
Columbia, MO 65202
Monday through Friday - 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
* CCW staff are off-duty on state & federal holidays; therefore, no applications are accepted at the BCSD on those days.

(NOTE: ASHLAND AND HALLSVILLE PDs NO LONGER PROCESS CCW APPLICATIONS.)

back to top

How much does a permit cost?

Effective August 28, 2013, the fee increased to $97.50.

The Boone County Sheriff's Department accepts payment in the following manner:

Cash, Credit, or Debit: Effective August 28, 2013, this fee became $97.50.
There is a 4% additional fee (from the credit card vendor) for using a credit or debit device.

If the Livescan fingerprinting system is temporarily unavailable it will be necessary to use ink fingerprint cards. In this instance a check for $30.50 payable to the MSHP Criminal Records Fund will be required, along with the remaining fee amount of $67.00 cash, credit, or debit due to the Boone County Sheriff's Department.

back to top

Do other states recognize a Missouri CCW permit?

Yes, a number of other states recognize Missouri CCW permits.

For a viewing of states that accept Missouri's endorsement you may go to the Missouri Attorney General's Office Web site at the following address:

http://ago.mo.gov/Concealed-Weapons/Concealed-Carry-Reciprocity-Missouri.htm.

back to top

Are there places in Missouri I can’t carry a concealed firearm after I get my permit?

There are a number of places specifically named in the law in which concealed firearms are prohibited.

Missouri Statute 571.107 specifically lists locations and under what circumstances that concealed carry is prohibited. 571.107 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C500-599/5710000107.HTM.

back to top

Do I have to get a CCW permit if I only want to carry a concealed firearm in my car?

No. A citizen age 21 or older may carry a concealable firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle, as long as such concealable firearm is lawfully possessed.

back to top

I took a firearms safety course a number of years ago. Can I use that certificate to apply for a CCW permit without taking a new course?

No personal firearms safety training offered prior to the passage of this law will be accepted. Firearms safety courses for application purposes must meet current specific requirements of law, and must be held after 09/11/03 to be acceptable.

back to top

How long will it take to get my CCW permit?"

That can vary, depending on the time it takes to complete the background check. However, a certificate will be issued or denied within 45 calendar days from the date of application.

back to top

How long is my concealed carry permit valid?

The concealed carry certificate/permit issued prior to August 28, 2013 is valid for a period of three years from the date of issuance. Any new or renewal concealed carry permits issued on or after August 28, 2013 are valid for a period of five years.

back to top

Do I have to carry my certificate form with me when I have a concealed firearm?

Yes. Any person issued a concealed carry permit shall carry it along with a valid government-issued photo ID at all times when carrying a firearm, and shall display the certificate and identification upon the request of any peace officer.

back to top

Where can I find all of the Missouri Statutes that pertain to Concealed Carry and other weapons offenses?

The entire Missouri Revised Statute chapter 571 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C571.HTM.

Section 571.101, RMSo, covers concealed carry endorsements, application requirements—approval procedures—issuance of certificates, when—record-keeping requirements—fees.

back to top

Where do I go to get my CCW renewed?

As long as all of your information is current on your CCW Endorsement, you can file the renewal at the Boone County Sheriff's Department.

If your information is not current, you need to contact the agency that issued the certificate.

(NOTE: ASHLAND AND HALLSVILLE PDs NO LONGER PROCESS CCW APPLICATIONS.)

back to top

When can I start the renewal process?

Applicants should begin the renewal process prior to the expiration of their CCW permit. Renewals can be done up to six months after the permit expires however, late fees will be applied at a rate of $10.00 for each month the applicant is late. If the permit is expired more than six months, the permit is canceled and the applicant must apply for an entirely new permit.

back to top

What is the cost of the renewal?

$50.00 Cash, Credit, or Debit at the Sheriff's Department.
There is a 4% additional fee (from the credit card vendor) for using a credit or debit device. No $100 bills please. We are unable to make change on bills that large.

There is a $10.00 late fee per month after the expiration of the CCW Endorsement.

back to top

What do I need to bring with me to file my renewal?

Your Driver's License, Non-Driver ID issued prior to August 28, 2013, or current concealed carry permit.

Payment is also due at the time of application.

back to top

Can I get the new certificate the same day?

No. Due to the volume of permit applications received, it will take several days to process and complete. You will be notified when your permit is ready. We try to complete renewal applications within seven (7) days.

back to top

How can I be added to Boone County's approved concealed carry instructor list?

Concealed Carry instructors that are currently on Boone County’s approved instructor list will remain on the list through the end of 2013 as long as their certifications remain valid during that time. We are still vetting out the required and/or optional procedures and fees regarding instructors. Instructors appearing currently valid on our list will be notified prior to December 31, 2013 as to their options.

back to top

What do I do if my permit is lost or destroyed?

Within 7 days of actually discovering the loss or destruction of the permit, the permit holder must come to the Sheriff’s Department and “furnish a statement” in writing that the permit is lost/destroyed. A replacement permit will be issued within 3 days.

A fee of $10 will be charged for processing a replacement permit.

back to top

What do I do if I change my address?

The permit holder must notify the Sheriff’s Departments of both the old and new jurisdictions within 30 days after changing their permanent residence. This also applies if changing addresses within the same county jurisdiction. The permit holder must furnish proof of the new address to the Sheriff in the new or current jurisdiction. Examples of proof include providing a current lease agreement, current utility bill, home purchase documents, etc. The Sheriff shall report the address change to the Missouri Uniform Law Enforcement System (MULES) within 3 days.

A CCW permit becomes invalid if the holder fails to report the address change as prescribed within 30 days.

A fee of $10 will be charged for the processing of a change of address transaction.

back to top

What do I do if my name changes due to marriage, divorce or some other legal name change?

The permit holder shall obtain a corrected permit from the Sheriff that issued their current permit. The permit holder must provide proof of their name change within 30 days to the Sheriff that issued their current permit. Acceptable proof includes a marriage license/certificate, divorce decree or other court issued document verifying the name change. The Sheriff shall report the name change to the Missouri Uniform Law Enforcement System (MULES) and the new name shall be accessible by MULES within 3 days of receipt of the information.

A CCW permit becomes invalid if the holder fails to report the name change as prescribed within 30 days.

A fee of $10 will be charged for processing a name change.

back to top