Boone County News Release

Press Archives Press Room

For Immediate Release

Media Contact:
Janet Thompson
District II Commissioner
Phone: (573) 886-4307

Boone, Callaway, and Cole Counties Announce Dedication Ceremony for Bicentennial Monument

November 10, 2020 – A monument commemorating the Bicentennial Celebrations of Boone, Callaway, and Cole Counties and the State of Missouri will be dedicated at the trailhead of the Katy Trail located just north of Jefferson City on Monday, November 16, 2020. The dedication ceremony will begin at 11:00AM. The Presiding Commissioners of Boone, Callaway, and Cole Counties, the Director of the Department of Natural Resources, and Governor Parson will be present for the ceremony. The public is welcome to attend the event. Attendees are encouraged to wear masks and practice social distancing; disposable masks will be available.

Boone and Cole Counties were both formed on November 16, 1820; Callaway County was formed on November 25, 1820. The three counties have spent much of 2020 celebrating their Bicentennials in a variety of innovative ways created to involve their communities while being mindful of health and safety needs. As these celebrations wind down, the Bicentennial celebrations for the State of Missouri, admitted to the United States on August 10, 1821, are getting started. The dedication of the monument will not only recognize the county bicentennial celebrations, but also serve as a way for the counties to figuratively “pass the torch” to the State for the beginning of its celebration.

The monument, crafted by Missouri River Monument Company, reflects the collaborative spirit of these counties by having three sides on the one piece—one side facing each county and bearing that county’s name and outline.  The monument’s four-sided base devotes one side to each county, with inscriptions that note the special attributes of that county. The fourth side of the base is devoted to the major sponsor of the monument, Central Bank. 

In addition to this monument, each of the three Counties will have a monument specific to their county displayed in a place of importance.