Boone County News Release

Press Archives Press Room

For Immediate Release

Media Contact:
Michele Hall, Boone County Commission Administrative Coordinator
Phone: (573) 886-4312

Boone County Elected Officials To Be Sworn Into Office

December 30, 2016

Newly elected and re-elected Boone County Elected Officials will be sworn in on Saturday, December 31, 2016. The Swearing In Ceremony will begin at 11:00AM in the Commission Chambers of the Roger B. Wilson Boone County Government Center, located at 801 E. Walnut in Columbia, MO. These Elected Officials' terms will begin Sunday, January 1, 2017.

Sonja Boone will be sworn in at this time to begin her first term as Boone County Public Administrator. Fred Parry will be sworn in at this time to begin his first term as Boone County District I Commissioner.

Boone County Treasurer Tom Darrough and Division 2 Circuit Judge Jeff Harris will be sworn in at this time as well. Both Treasurer Darrough and Judge Harris were elected in November after initially being appointed to their positions in 2015 and 2016, respectively.

Sheriff Dwayne Carey and District II Commissioner Janet Thompson will also be sworn in during this ceremony, having been re-elected to their positions. Sheriff Carey was originally elected in 2004 and will be beginning his 4th term. Commissioner Thompson was first elected in 2012 and will be beginning her second term in office.

Boone County Assessor Tom Schauwecker was also re-elected in November 2016. Assessor Schauwecker was first elected in 1988. He will begin his 8th term when he takes the oath on September 1, 2017.