Boone County News Release

Press Archives Press Room

For Immediate Release

Media Contact:
Michele Hall
Boone County Commission Administrative Coordinator
(573) 886-4312

Boone County Joint Communications and MACC Celebrate Ribbon Cutting

October 11, 2018 – Boone County Joint Communications (BCJC) and Moberly Area Community College (MACC) will celebrate their partnership in offering the Emergency Telecommunicator course with a ribbon cutting on Monday, October 15, 2018 at 11:00AM. The ceremony will take place at MACC – Columbia Higher Education Center in the Parkade Center, 601 Business Loop 70 West, Suite 153. This suite is located in the basement of the Parkade Center and may most easily be accessed by using the north Parkade Center entrance, which is west of the MACC main entrance.

The Emergency Telecommunicator Course is a ten-week course offered through a partnership between BCJC and MACC. The International Academies of Emergency Dispatch (IAED™) approved curriculum is taught by BCJC staff. The course includes 40 hours of classroom study, 10 hours working on the dispatch simulator provided by BCJC, and 10 hours observing telecommunicators at the Boone County Emergency Communications Center. BCJC staff members are employed by MACC as instructors for the course. Boone County will provide funding to MACC as partial reimbursement for the cost of providing instructors for the class.

Upon completion of the class, students will have received education in emergency communication center operations, emergency telecommunication technology, interpersonal communication, legal issues, job stress factors, and other related topics. Students will be certified as an Emergency Telecommunicator (ETC), which is recognized nationwide and meets the requirements needed for a 911 operator and dispatcher in the state of Missouri.

For more information about the course, please visit MACC's Continuing Education Emergency Telecommunicator page.


The Government of Boone County, Missouri employs over 500 people and serves more than 162,642 citizens across 691 square miles by administering and enforcing state and local laws, collecting taxes, assessing property, maintaining roads, conducting elections, recording public documents, and much more.