Boone County News Release

Press Archives Press Room

For Immediate Release

Media Contact:
Michele Hall, Boone County Commission Administrative Coordinator
Phone: (573) 886-4312

Boone County Courthouse Plaza Grand Opening Celebration to be held Wednesday, May 1, 2013

April 25, 2013

Less than a year ago, crews began demolition work on the Boone County Courthouse Plaza. The renovations were completed in time for Veterans' Day memorials in November. Now, as the flowers begin to bloom and the trees, grass and native plants come to live, the Plaza is ready for a Grand Opening Celebration.

On Wednesday, May 1, Boone County residents and visitors are invited to the Boone County Courthouse Plaza to join in the Grand Opening Celebration beginning at 4:30PM. Enjoy the plush green grass and catch some shade under one of the 56 trees planted in the Plaza. Wander over to the Butterfly Garden in front of the Government Center and see the flowers that draw the fluttering creatures to them. Roam around the Native Garden leading up to Ash Street and see the myriad of Missouri plant life thriving amidst the sitting boulders. Stroll up to the Café Patio to enjoy some light refreshments and to stop and smell the roses surrounding the “First Born” statue. Visit the Veterans Memorials and pay tribute to those Boone County citizens who have faithfully served our country in the armed forces.

Beginning at 4:30PM, visitors are encouraged to take a seat in the amphitheater and enjoy a special performance on the stage. The Rock Bridge High School Jazz Ensemble, which has had the honor of playing at the Jazz Education Network (JEN) International Conference in Atlanta, Georgia and the Missouri Music Educators Association State Conference, will provide musical entertainment from 4:30 until 5:15.

At 5:15PM, opening remarks will be made by Commissioner Karen M. Miller. Immediately following will be a Columbia Chamber of Commerce Ribbon Cutting Ceremony.

Special thanks will be extended to the Boone County Courthouse Plaza Renovation Committee: Collector Pat Lensmeyer, Commissioner Karen M. Miller, Judge Gary Oxenhandler, Auditor June Pitchford, Derin Campbell, Bob Davidson, Carrie Gartner, Jason Gibson, Michele Hall, Kathy Lloyd and Mary Wilkerson.