Home

Collector,
Brian McCollum

Search

Pay Taxes

Taxes & Assessments

Licenses & Permits

Information

Merchant License

SEARCH BILLSMerchant's License Application

  1. Who is a merchant?

    Missouri Law, §150.010 RSMo, indicates that every person, corporation, co-partnership or association of persons, who deals in selling goods, wares and merchandise at any store, stand or place occupied for that purpose, is a "merchant".

  2. Do I need a Boone County Merchant's License for my business?

    Yes! If you answer yes to all the items in the list below:

    1. You own or operate a business; and

    2. The business is located in Boone County either within or outside the city limits of any incorporated area; and

    3. There is a sales tax number issued to the business by the Missouri Department of Revenue; and

    4. Product or merchandise is sold at retail; and

    5. You collect and remit sales tax to the Missouri Department of Revenue.

  3. How do I obtain a Merchant's License?

    Fill out the following form and return it to the Boone County Collector's office for processing.

    Merchant's License Application

    Call the Boone County Collector's office at 573-886-4285. We'll be happy to answer your questions and send you an application. Or, if you prefer, come by our office. The collector's office is located on the first floor of the Roger B. Wilson Boone County Government Center adjacent to the courthouse at 801 East Walnut, Room 118.

    After you complete the application, attach a business or personal check for $25.00 and return it to the collector's office.

    Your state sales tax number must be included on the application. If you need more information regarding state sales tax, please contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, Truman Bldg., 301 W. High Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101; or by phone at (573) 751-5860.

    Your validated license will be mailed to you at the business location address included on the application. A Merchant's License is issued for the calendar year of January 1 through December 31. The annual license fee is $25.00. A business with more than one permanent location is required to obtain a separate license for each place of business. A county issued Merchant's License is in addition to any city or other local business license you may have.

    If your business is located within Columbia's city limits, please contact:

    City of Columbia
    Attn: Business License Office
    725 East Broadway
    Columbia, MO 65201
    (573) 874-7378
    www.gocolumbiamo.com

    If your business is located within any other incorporated area within Boone County, please contact the local clerk to determine what, if any, licenses are required.

    Ashland (573) 657-2091
    Centralia (573) 682-2139
    Hallsville (573) 696-3885
    Harrisburg (573) 874-0138
    Hartsburg (573) 657-2729
    Huntsdale (573) 234-1656
    Pierpont (573) 443-8248
    Rocheport (573) 698-3245
    Sturgeon (573) 687-3321

  4. I do not have a permanent site for my business but travel from place to place selling goods - Do I need a Merchant's License?

    Yes! If you reside in Boone County but engage in or conduct a temporary or transient business of selling goods you do need a Merchant's License so long as you meet the other requirements of the check list.

  5. You do not need a Merchant's License if ...

    You are a registered motor vehicle dealer and your primary business is selling motor vehicles; or

    You are a physician, dentist, or veterinarian selling medicines, at either wholesale or retail, used in your practice; or

    You are a farmer who grows or processes any article of farm produce or farm products on your farm, as long as you do not have a regular stand or place of business away from your farm.

  6. Methods of payment

    The collector's office accepts license and permit payments by cash, personal check, cashier's check, bank draft, money order or credit cards. One check may be written for multiple bills of licenses or permits, personal property, and/or real estate, if the total of the bills are added correctly. The entire amount due for the license or permit must be paid before one can be issued. Please do not send cash through the mail. License or permit fees cannot be paid online or by phone.

    Please see the Methods of Tax Payment page for detailed information.

    After you complete the application, return it and the $25.00 payment to the collector's office.

Any questions?  Feel free to contact us:


to the Boone County News email list.

Questions or Comments? Email Collector

www.ShowMeBoone.com Boone County, Missouri. 801 East Walnut Columbia, MO 65201 USA